PDA

View Full Version : Is this a virus spreading around or a hoax?


Jacob S
08-07-03, 03:59 PM
I was sent an email that was forward to me in which said that the file JDBGMGR.EXE with a teddy bear icon in front of it was a virus that should not be opened that was passed on to people through their address book and to delete it without opening it up or it will cause damage on the computer in 14 days. Is this true or just a hoax getting you to delete something in which is required for a program to run? It says it was last modified on 10/17/02.

gcutler
08-07-03, 04:05 PM
Here is a list of hoaxes...

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/hoax.html

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/jdbgmgr.exe.file.hoax.html

If wondering visit mcafee or Symantec's site and either the virus name should show up as real virus or hoax (unless it is sooo new, and you are "lucky")

Bogy
08-07-03, 04:05 PM
This is a hoax. It has been around for some time. It has to do with Java scripting, and my understanding is that if you don't write Java, deleting this will not actually hurt anything, but it won't help either. Microsoft put it there when you installed windows, so its a pretty good chance when you look you will find the "dreaded" teddy bear icon. Don't worry about it, and please don't forward this hoax. The only damage it does is to clog up bandwidth.

JBKing
08-07-03, 04:06 PM
joke! that is a windows file you need to keep. But If you delete it, there's a very slim chance you will even notice. I can't remember what it does, though.

Jacob S
08-07-03, 05:10 PM
I figured you had to open a file up to get the virus, and the date of last modification was last year, and also seeing how they said that the anti-virus programs would not detect it also made me think that it was a hoax.

BobMurdoch
08-07-03, 05:31 PM
It's a hoax. Also, beware of the latest one,.... a file from your email admoninstrator with ADMIN@XXXX.XXX where the x's are your domain name telling you that your email is about o expire. This is a virus, a fairly benign one, but it will add your name to a list the virus is creating.

Mark Holtz
08-07-03, 06:54 PM
The admin@domainname.com virus was just discovered on Friday. Make sure your virus definitions are up to date. We had to issue a mail blast to all our customers. However, if they had Spam Assassin running, then it would have been marked as SPAM.

The J-Bear has you deleting a Java Debugger that is part of Microsoft's Virtual Machine.