DBSTalk Forum banner

Error that DirecTV can't seem to fix

3K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  DishCSR 
#1 ·
A customer of mine (I'm a builder), upgraded from SD DTV to HD DTV. The tech swapped the dish from the old single lnb oval to an oblong multi-lnb. He changed out the smartswitch.

He installed a genie DVR. He activated it. It gets SD channels, and some HD channels but most HD channels produce a 721 error.

They sent a 2nd tech and he said the dish was fine. I'm beginning to think they are both wrong.

HD channels work up to channel 68. Starting with Channel 70, any HD produces a 721 error.

I tried to ask tech support what satellite a particular channel was on so i could diagnose if it was a dish pointing problem.

So far I have channel 70 QVCHD, 229 HGTVHD and channel 317 QVCHD all giving me a 721.

DTV has removed and re-added the packages several times, I even had them go to the next higher package but still the same result. I'm back to thinking it's a dish pointing issue even know 2 tech's (one with many years of experience) say they aligned the dish correctly. Both seemed like novices if you ask me.

Based on the info I provided above, is there any way for me to tell what satellite might not be coming in? I'm going to make a list from the receiver but going the other way might be faster. No obstructions, clear sky. On 2nd Day tech swapped the DVR and multiswitch.

BTW, we are in day 3 of this problem (15+ hours), DTV no help, 2 tech's, no help. At this point it's got to be something stupid (like incorrectly pointed dish). Tech's kept saying 771 errors are dish pointing, but 721 is always subscription. My personal feeling is the stream authorizing certain channels is not being received due to dish pointing error.

Many, many Thanks.

Roveer

See less See more
#3 ·
721 | Service Isn't Authorized | CS needs to authorize. Can also indicate a blackout condition (sports programming)