1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

103B signal strength

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Bobwhite, Sep 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bobwhite

Bobwhite AllStar

Nov 29, 2006
    I think I'm getting the run around from directech, but wanted to double check before I make some more calls. All my other satellite's top out in the mid 90's for signal strenght, except the 103(b) which tops out at 60. So what happens is I get a gray screen followed by a 3-4 second delay before it will tune in the new channels, even when switching from one hd channel to the other.

Directech is telling me that directv is moving things around, blah, blah, blah. I say B.S., I need a reallignment.

Comments please oh great ones

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    I don't think 60 is the tops for 103(b) in your area. I could be mistaken but I've seen folks in the upper northeast getting 80's and 90's with a properly-peaked dish. In the mid-south I certainly do but I'm at a lower latitude and thus have my dish pointed at a higher elevation, so there's a little less atmosphere for the signals to travel through.

That said, a 3 - 4 second delay on the new HD channels seems to be common - they are in a different frequency band and your B-Band Converter and receiver have to work together to make the channel accessible. These are the first channels where this has had to occur for them to be watchable, but it is completely normal.

3. Hansen

Hansen Hall Of Fame

Jan 1, 2006
    You might also check to see whether your box is set to Native "on" or "off". When Native is set to "on", it often takes a bit longer for the channel change to "take effect".

4. texasbrit

texasbrit Well-Known Member

Aug 9, 2006

Agree. 60s is somewhat low, should be at least 80s if the dish is correctly aligned.

5. Inches

Inches Godfather