1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

942-dvd recorder ?'s

Discussion in 'Other HD Receiver Support Forum (811, 921, 942)' started by Playaction, Sep 8, 2005.

1. Sep 8, 2005 #1 of 13
    Playaction

Playaction New Member

Feb 7, 2005
    I want a dvd recorder to copy movies from 942. What inputs do I need on the dvd recorder. Which outputs do I use on the 942? Can you even record hd on a dvd? I have mostly jvc equipment so I would prefer that but would be willing to go with another brand. I assume I would not need one with a hard drive. How long can you record on a single dvd with good quality. I am new to this so forgive the multiple and jumbled questions. Thanks for any help.

2. Sep 9, 2005 #2 of 13
    LtMunst

LtMunst Hall Of Fame

Aug 24, 2005
    You cannot write HD to a DVD. The highest output current DVD's will take is 480p. If you set the tuner to output at 480p you could record your HD programs, they just won't be in full resolution.

3. Sep 9, 2005 #3 of 13
    ibglowin

ibglowin Godfather/Supporter DBSTalk Gold Club

Sep 10, 2002
    Don't spend the extra $$ on a DVD recorder with a hard drive, its not needed. Since the 942 only has RCA outputs you only need an RCA cable. From what I hear, the PQ is excellent. Your DVD's will be widescreen if they were widescreen originally and the quality should be as good or close to commercial DVD. You will have to set your 942 to 480i output. 480P would be output via the DVI or Component connections and not the RCA ones.

4. Nightmare

Nightmare Legend

Nov 2, 2002
    Can I assume the S-Video, Component, DVI and HDMI will not output to a DVD burner?

5. LtMunst

LtMunst Hall Of Fame

Aug 24, 2005
    Most DVD burners will accept Composite and S-Video. You could use the Composite on the 942 as long as it is set to 480p.

6. ibglowin

Sep 10, 2002
    480P will NOT be output via composite (RCA connection)