1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About time to cancel DirecTV

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by SunDevil2012, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Jan 9, 2011 #1 of 138
    SunDevil2012

SunDevil2012 Cool Member

Mar 17, 2010
    Last year's price increase was annoying. This year's even more sickening because it's not about the dollar amount, it's the fact that it's become routine.

I subscribe to DirecTV SOLELY for the sports. I'm a college student living in Arizona and the only way to get the Patriots, Red Sox, and Celtics is with DirecTV. I only watch the sports channels and locals. And maybe the discovery networks from time to time.

I call up DirecTV today asking them what they can do to keep me after this ridiculous increase. And I get transferred to retention. Since when is retention an affiliate and not an actual DirecTV employee? I'm sickened by the fact that if I want to switch to less it means paying more. I e-mailed the head of DirecTV multiple times in the past discussing offering a reduced main package available to only those with other sports packages (just locals, some of the 200-350 channels, and the the sports channels required for when you want to watch the local feed of your games - for pregame/post), they end up doing that survey. And then now nothing. Nothing at all has come as a result.

What's the point of keeping DirecTV these days? So that you can enjoy it for the football season and then after that you're paying $200-$300 to watch the NBA. The thing that gets me is that every year EVERYTHING goes up but they don't seem to add anything worth the money. For christ sake where the hell are the pre-season and spring training games!?!?