1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An appeal to Dish Network support staff

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by jorhett, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jorhett

jorhett Legend

Nov 14, 2006
    I am very happy with my dish DVRs. Even though you don't have as good of an interface as TiVo, it's enough to keep my happy.

I have always been happy with the quality of signal I receive.

I have always been happy with the channel packages.

I have always been happy... lots of things. Really.

It really seems that you have everything going good for you as a company. So why are you so intend on treating your customers badly? Why do you go out of your way to insult me as a customer?

You had a software problem that affected DVR recording. Gotcha. I'm a software developer, I understand bugs. So I gather lots of information and call you with all the details. What do you tell me?

1. There's no known fix (true) and no workaround (untrue)

2. There's no way you could have communicated with me about the problem (untrue)

3. You will not communicate with me about when a fix will be available (disrespectful)

4. There's no way to revert me receiver to a previous version (untrue)

5. There's no way to target a version to a specific customer (untrue)

I went through 3 levels of escalation, and I received the same bull and hock all the way through to your supposed executive response.

Dish: I'm a tech junkie. I can build a linux box and get MythTV working in less than 2 hours. I've done it for friends. So why do I pay you? For convenience. For the "toaster effect" <- it just works.

But when it doesn't work, and you lie repeatedly to me, you make me question what value you are providing me.

1 Response: Please tell customers about workarounds. Don't tell them there is no workaround, when it's both well known and confirmed.