1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any installers actually making money out there?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by markheus, May 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. markheus

markheus Mentor

May 26, 2007
    Just curious. I've been installing for a midwestern HSP for about 3 years. The first two years or so it was great. I worked in my home market for about a year and have been travelling pretty much non-stop ever since. I've worked all over the midwest and some AFS markets out of the midwest. Good money, good times...

Well, as you can guess with gas prices the way they have been lately its been getting harder and harder. I was working in a major metro area over the winter, but for the last few months its been nothing but rural areas. And when I say rural, I mean 150 mile round trips for service calls. I don't even know if I"m making any money. It seems that I've been paying the HSP for me to run my route.

Anyone, just curious how those of you working in rural areas are doing. I'm thinking about jumping ship to another company but I really don't know if things are any better.

2. BNUMM

BNUMM Hall Of Fame

Dec 23, 2006
    If installers are going to continue to allow the companies to determine what the installers are paid things will continue to get worse. I set the rates and if companies do not want to pay them they do not get to have me do work for them. Not all of my work is based on installs. I get service calls because they cannot get Dish or Direct out to do the job. I also get many calls to set up dishes for seasonal customers at campgrounds and boats.

3. markheus

markheus Mentor

May 26, 2007