1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any way possible to disable the searching for signal message to use On Demand Service

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by J Blow, Sep 29, 2010.

1. J Blow

J Blow Legend

Nov 2, 2008
    I think the title lays out my question. The background is that I have moved into an apartment that will not let me install the dish and, of course, I have already paid for the football package so I didn't want to discontinue my services (or even suspend them so I can watch the games online at the very least). In the mean time, I started wondering if I could still use the Video on Demand feature so I hooked up my receiver. Of course I can't go anywhere on the menu because it's constantly looking for a signal.

There simply has to be a workaround, correct? As a google pro, I'm having no luck finding any answers.

Thanks.

2. litzdog911

litzdog911 Well-Known Member

Jun 23, 2004
    Mill Creek, WA
    I'm not aware of any way to do that. These things are pretty much boat anchors when there's no satellite feed.

3. Codfishjoe

Codfishjoe AllStar

Sep 2, 2010
    well...you could press list to access recordings...possibly just try to tune to channel 1000 or 1100 to access the on demand content. worth a shot.

4. Justin23

Justin23 Hall Of Fame

Jan 10, 2008
    Are they saying no completely to installing the dish or just not installing it in a common use area? If you put it on a porch, patio, balcony or other "exclusive use area"...they can't restrict you.

www.DIRECTV.com/FCC

5. snowtrooper1966

snowtrooper1966 Cool Member

May 15, 2010
    I was able to force playback of recorded programming on a HR22 using the list button when a disconnected unit was searching for signal, but NOT with same receiver that was connected when service was shut off due to late payment for roomates system....

6. J Blow

J Blow Legend

Nov 2, 2008