1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AT&T/Dish Network Service

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Tubbie, Aug 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tubbie

Tubbie Cool Member

Jun 21, 2007
    Hello, everyone.

First off, I'm a newbie to digital satellite TV. I've been a long time customer of Comcast (even longer before that with Viacom!) cable TV until someone slaps my face and said "Why?" Now I'm with the Dish Network via AT&T. I'm located in Milpitas, CA, and it's so far so good with everything (with the exception of mysterious programming charges on my bill) in terms of receptions, both pictures and sound quality.

I also recently had opted to enable the USB port to be used with an external HDD. I have a Cavalry 500GB drive and it works (so far) flawlessly. I have made a 39GB of show programmings transfer from the Vip622 to the external drive without a hitch.

The only thing that irks me about being an AT&T/Dish Network customer is that if there is something technical or question about service subscription with my satellite TV is that I have to go through AT&T instead of going through the Dish Network. AT&T webisite is probably among the worst if you wan to get help or answer about your digital satellite TV if you don't want to call and being put on hold for 10-15 minutes at a time.

I have a HD-DVR Advantage subscription (with 18 mos of contract) with 200 channels programming with (supposedly) free HD channels for 1 year. AT&T also charges me $5/mo for local channels, and $6/mo to lease the Vip622 HD-DVR receiver.

I'd like to start a thread for those who are customers of AT&T/Dish Network to compare notes. Please share your experience whether it's good or bad so that we can all be informed. Thank you in advance!

-Sydney

2. Ray_Clum

Ray_Clum Hall Of Fame

Apr 22, 2002