1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ATT U-verse and IR emmiters

Discussion in 'IPTV and Internet Video Delivery' started by cantrellswire, Jan 5, 2009.

1. cantrellswire

cantrellswire Mentor

Jan 4, 2008
    I'm a DTV tech gone home theater. I've installed my share of IR distribution systems and I've just run into my first problem. I've installed an IR distribution system to a DVD, VHS, Stereo and a U-verse receiver. All systems respond except the U-verse. I tested the emitter and it worked fine. I got a different type of emitter ( a shelf emitter ) it too did not fix the problem but was working on all other devices. When using the Uverse remote with the door open the system worked. When using the Monster Universal 100 remote the system worked. I put a news paper in front of the U-verse and it still worked thinking it might be set to radio frequency. But it didn’t work with the door closed. I know with DTV advanced products you can use IR or RF but this is not acting like a RF and the IR seems to be crap too. Anyone have any insight?

2. smiddy

smiddy Tain't ogre til its ogre

Apr 5, 2006
    Have you tried putting a screen over the emitter? Sometimes they are too bright...my Russound does this on a Xantech block. I had to put a screen over one emitter on an H20-600 no less.

3. cantrellswire

cantrellswire Mentor

Jan 4, 2008
    That didn't work . Any other suggestions?

4. KG4MVP

KG4MVP New Member

Jan 17, 2009