1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto Bill Pay - This Can't Be Right?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by madavis3, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oct 8, 2007 #1 of 17
    madavis3

madavis3 New Member

Aug 7, 2007
    Hey All,

Newbie here and am confused regarding the D* billing philosophy. I signed up for the auto bill pay only to learn they take the payment out on the statement date and not the date the payment is due. This can't be right can it? Every other company I've worked with including the evil cable company takes my money on the date due.

Well, because of this I didn't realize that my first months payment would not be taken out until the next statement date so I received a 5.00 late fee charge. After calling and talking with a rep I still wasn't able to get the 5.00 credited. I know...it's only five bucks...but...I'm still miffed about it.

Anyone else had problems trying to get a charge reversed...with fairly sound reasoning?

I welcome your comments.

Thanks!

2. Oct 8, 2007 #2 of 17
    tim81

tim81 Legend

Jul 2, 2007
    a) if you do it with a credit card it always comes out on the statement date, if you do it with recurring check by phone/eft you can set the date i believe up to 15 days after

b) billing agents are going to be harder to get credits from since it is one of the things they are measured on. i would say "technical" or try to speak to someone in technical or maybe a supervisor, they are not measured by how many credits they issue

3. Oct 8, 2007 #3 of 17
    gdn

gdn AllStar

Aug 5, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    I quit doing autopay with D* because of this - they took it the date of the statement vs the couple of weeks til the due date. I pay by credit card - but I do it manually - log in to the web site to process my payment on the date I want it - not their statement date.

4. Oct 8, 2007 #4 of 17