1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best HDMI cables for DTV HD receivers

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Rebollos, Nov 20, 2008.

1. Rebollos

Rebollos AllStar

Feb 1, 2006
    Which are the best HDMI cables for DTV HD receivers?

2. paulman182

paulman182 Hall Of Fame

Aug 4, 2006
    The ones that are long enough to reach from the receiver to the TV...:)

Seriously, no one has really reported any difference in picture quality unless they are trying to use extremely long cables. Monoprice or Blue Jeans cables are fine--Monster Cable definitely not required!

3. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    CHEAP ONES! :D

I use Monoprice cables and think they're great.

4. Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson 6EQUJ5 WOW! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Jan 24, 2007
    You don't have to $100 on a cable. I have 4 from components to a HDMI switch to the TV and I didn't pay more than ≈$25 for any of them. I bought the cheapest one at Staples.

Unless you need to go a long way(>20m), IMHO, it doesn't matter.

EDIT: Link on HDMI cable costs

Mike
    post3k

5. HuzorDaddy

HuzorDaddy Cool Member

Feb 10, 2008
    I have bought from monoprice before and have been very happy.
    I also find the cheapest cables at Big Lots. Usually just for a few bucks.
    It's all digital so the gold-plated super duper copper wonder monster cables are a pure rip-off...

6. bidger

bidger Hall Of Fame

Nov 19, 2005
    I go with the ones that came with my HD DVRs. For any additional ones I need I go to Monoprice.

7. kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte Active Member

Dec 19, 2006
    Outside...
    Digital is digital. As long as the connectors and cable are working fine, ANY cable will produce the same quality picture and sound.