1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brick Bug finally got me

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by mcbeevee, Mar 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcbeevee

mcbeevee 97% Complete

Sep 18, 2006
    After 6+ months of almost flawless performance, my HR20 finally bricked last night. :eek2: Tried to watch some recordings, but the same frame would display and none of the skip/forward keys would work. Tried a couple of RBR's, but it would always get stuck on "Step 1 of 2...checking satellite settings". Rolled back from 0x13d to 0x134, and tried a few more RBR's and power-downs, but it never gets past "Step 1". Do I have any options other than reformatting the hard drive? :nono:

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    During your trouble-shooting did you unplug the box and unscrew the coax connections and just let it sit for 10 minutes before reconnecting and trying again?

3. Clint Lamor

Clint Lamor Hall Of Fame

Nov 15, 2005
    This post will be moved to the normal HR20 forum.

My suggestion would be to exit out of that section ( you can hit exit or menu) and go to the signal meters and see if you have any signal strength. Sounds like what happened to me over the weekend. Had to swap out my switch to fix the issue.

4. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    I would add that this isn't a "brick" condition.
    Since this will power up, it isn't a brick.

5. mcbeevee

mcbeevee 97% Complete

Sep 18, 2006
    I unplugged it before I left for work this am. Will unhook the coax connections when I get home. After hooking back up, I will cross my fingers and power up. :)

6. veryoldschool

Dec 9, 2006
    I have no idea what removing the coax would do to affect this. Pulling the power cord is one thing, but the coax makes no sense.