1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Channel 95 and baseball games

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Programming' started by Bob Coxner, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jun 2, 2007 #1 of 17
    Bob Coxner

Bob Coxner Icon

Dec 28, 2005
    I'm new to HD so I'm not sure exactly how blackouts are supposed to work on 95. Is it just for EI subs? Are you supposed to only be blacked out for out of market games or should you get all games on 95? I was assuming I would at least get my own team games available on 95 but the Rangers-Mariners game a couple of days ago was on 95 but was blacked out for me. The Rangers are my market team and I got the game on Fox Southwest. I can't remember the exact message but I think it was "channel not purchased" on 95.

2. Jun 2, 2007 #2 of 17
    bonscott87

bonscott87 Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

Jan 21, 2003
    If the feed on channel 95 was from an RSN other then Fox Southwest, that is why it was blacked out for you. Whatever feed you normally would get, if it's in HD on 95 then you'll get it.

Example: FSN Detroit is my RSN. Red Wings vs. LA Kings game. HD version is on 95. I'm blacked out because the feed they use is from FSN West, which I am not authorized for. If it had been the feed from FSN Detroit, then I would have got the game on 95 (as I did about a dozen times during last season).

The feed used is typically that of the home team, but not always.

3. Jun 2, 2007 #3 of 17
    DCSholtis

DCSholtis Up The Irons!

Aug 7, 2002
    Bob, also check Channel 96 as the Rangers games MAYBE on that channel in your area. Its the MPEG4 RSN channel. :) I say maybe due to the HD RSNs currently being spotbeamed. You would have to check to see if you are within the beam.

4. Jun 2, 2007 #4 of 17
    Bob Coxner

Bob Coxner Icon

Dec 28, 2005