1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Common to receive reconditioned hrxx for a new customer?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by bpaulson, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Aug 4, 2009 #1 of 24
    bpaulson

bpaulson Legend

Jul 12, 2009
    I just noticed that the two hr22 dvrs I received from d* are reconditioned. I don't care about the free one but paying $199 for the other one pisses me off. I purchased one more from best buy and that is new. Now I'm not knocking refurbished things (I refurbish and repair iPods for a living) however directv offers a short warranty period and that makes me skeptical. Had I known they do this I would have just picked 2 up from best buy or snagged 2 hr23 models from the net.

2. Aug 4, 2009 #2 of 24
    MrAP

MrAP Mentor

Aug 4, 2009
    How does one tell it is a refurb? (I'm getting a new install tomorrow, so I'd like to check that it is a new DVR!)

Thanks.

3. Aug 4, 2009 #3 of 24
    spartanstew

spartanstew Dry as a bone DBSTalk Club

Nov 16, 2005
    Wylie, Texas
    Yes, it's common. You didn't buy anything (including the box from Best Buy), you're just leasing it. When customers turn in their leased boxes for whatever reason, they re-use them if they're in working condition. They don't just throw boxes away when a customer cancels their account. As long as it works, there's no difference.

4. Aug 5, 2009 #4 of 24
    bpaulson

bpaulson Legend

Jul 12, 2009
    I realize they aren't mine but since I'm leasing them then does that mean any trouble I have with them DirecTV takes care of without me having to spend any of my money...?

That's my point... I couldn't figure out why the boxes had fingerprints all over them when I got them and it never dawned on me.

On the back of the unit where the "warranty void if sticker removed" on the left rear panel it says "factory reconditioned" or something like that.