1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

COMPLETE Newbie

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by mmdkyoung123, Aug 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mmdkyoung123

mmdkyoung123 Mentor

Aug 30, 2007
    OK,
    So as I said, I am a COMPLETE newbie. I just signed up with D* at the end of this month. I also just found this forum lat night after searching on line for HOURS trying to find answers to my wuestions, many of which have already ben answered here. What I haven't found clear answeres to however, is if I SHOULD bother with trying to hook my HR20 up to the internet, and if I do, if there is a wireless solution for this as my MOdem is hooked up to a wireless router in my basemant, and I don't even want to contemplate the price for the amount of ethernet cable I would need to run it directly from my computer room to the family room (up two levels.) I have always had Comcast before this (for those of you who aren't aware, I am pretty sure they might be Satan lurking among us) but finally switched over, the straw that broke the camels back so to say, being their falure to carry the big ten network, meaning I don't get to see all of my belove Wolverines games. I am happy with D* so far other than not getting my locals in HD yet, but they applied for a waiver for me and said it would take about 40 calendar days. I am hopefull about getting the local HD's with the rollout of the new HD lineup. Overall I ma very pleased I made the switch, just trying to learn all of the new intracacies. Any advice or help would be GREATLY apreciated. I have 1 HR20, 1 R15, and 2 D11's

Thanks,
    Mike

2. mmdkyoung123

mmdkyoung123 Mentor

Aug 30, 2007
    oh yeah, one more question, what is up with being able to put music on the HR20 from my COMP????? I have read it can be done but havn'e been able to find out how. thanks again

3. xandor

xandor Legend

Nov 18, 2005