1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denver Distant package

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Link, Feb 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Feb 2, 2004 #1 of 11
    Link

    Link Hall Of Fame

    1,802
    4
    Feb 1, 2004
    Is it true that Dish is no longer giving Denver as an option for a Distant package? It makes no sense to drop Denver when its the only Mountain time zone city they offer. It would make more sense to drop Atlanta and have New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, and Denver. That way you would have all 3 times zones covered. At this rate, they'll have nothing but New York and LA like Directv.

    I miss the Primetime 24 days when you got the stations all from different cities - WJLA (ABC, Washington DC), WSEE (CBS, Erie Pennsylvania, WNBC (NBC, New York), FoxNet. plus the west feeds KOMO, KPIX, KNBC.
     
  2. Feb 2, 2004 #2 of 11
    scottchez

    scottchez Icon

    992
    13
    Feb 4, 2003
    Word is they plan to move it and one other to Spot beams to make room for more HD this summer.
     
  3. Feb 2, 2004 #3 of 11
    JohnH

    JohnH Hall Of Fame

    7,802
    0
    Apr 22, 2002
    There does not appear to be room on the Atlanta and Chicago spotbeams. So, what is left besides New York and Los Angeles?
     
  4. Feb 2, 2004 #4 of 11
    cj9788

    cj9788 Hall Of Fame

    1,669
    2
    May 14, 2003
    As of today denver is still an option for distant nets on the dish net web site but that can change any time
     
  5. Feb 2, 2004 #5 of 11
    TonyM

    TonyM Banned User

    1,385
    0
    Aug 14, 2003
    All 3????

    Eastern
    Central
    Mountain
    Pacific

    That makes 4 in my book :D :D
     
  6. Feb 2, 2004 #6 of 11
    TonyM

    TonyM Banned User

    1,385
    0
    Aug 14, 2003
    I still have my Denver FOX....hopefully they wont get rid of it
     
  7. Feb 2, 2004 #7 of 11
    bar1203

    bar1203 Mentor

    33
    0
    Jan 4, 2004
    If you already have it, you will be grandfathered in being able to keep it until you remove it or cancel your account. but after that you will never be able to get it again. same thing happened with dallas last year.
     
  8. Feb 2, 2004 #8 of 11
    wondering

    wondering Guest

    Just curious is any one still get miami as a distant net from when they were available as a distant?
     
  9. Feb 3, 2004 #9 of 11
    TNGTony

    TNGTony Hall Of Fame

    5,345
    0
    Mar 23, 2002
    It's 4 time zones, but there are only three program feeds from the network.

    Notice on all the ads on broadcast TV they says something like, "Watch X program at 8pm/ 7 central."

    The program is sent ONCE for both Eastern (8pm) and Central (7pm). 8pm Eastern is the same time as 7 Central.

    Then it is sent again for mountain time at 8pm Maountain (10pm eastern)
    Then again sent for 8pm Pacific time (11pm eastern.)

    This makes three time zones.

    Now if you were just being "smart", I count 7 time zones served by Dish:
    Atlantic (Puerto Rico/USVI) Current time 1am 2/3
    Eastern 12am 2/3
    Central 11pm 2/2
    Mountain 10pm 2/2
    Pacific 9pm 2/2
    Alaska 8pm 2/2
    Hawaii 7pm 2/2

    What time zone is American Samoa anyway :)

    Oh...I had to look for the rest of the U.S. possesions and protectorates:
    American Samoa Time 6pm 2/2
    Marshal Islands/Wake Time 5pm 2/3
    Micronesia Time 4pm 2/3
    Guam Time Zone 3pm 2/3
    Palau Time Zone 2pm 2/3

    See ya
    Tony
     
  10. TNGTony

    TNGTony Hall Of Fame

    5,345
    0
    Mar 23, 2002
    With the exception of WLRN (secondary PBS) and WDLP (Spanish Ind.) which are at 61.5° all the Miami locals are on spot beam and cannot be received north of the penninsula. The map shows that the beam goes just about to Daytona and arcs ocer to Sarasota area.

    See ya
    Tony
     
  11. James Long

    James Long Ready for Uplink! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

    45,288
    912
    Apr 17, 2003
    Michiana
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page