1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Direct TV DVR Receiver Model R22-200

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by thedawgg, Jan 15, 2010.

1. thedawgg

thedawgg Cool Member

Jan 15, 2010
    Can someone tell me if this model Direct TV DVR Receiver Model R22-200 can use the wireless networking and get VOD. I hope i posted this in the right place. im new at this. i have a upgrade for monday for 2 SD dvrs. just wondering if they can use VOD networking. Thanks.

2. Go Beavs

Go Beavs Hall Of Fame

Nov 18, 2008
    Portland,...
    Yes it can be networked and access VOD. You'll need to buy a wireless adapter such as the Linksys WET610N if you want to use wireless networking.

And :welcome_s to DBSTalk!

3. jdspencer

jdspencer Hall Of Fame

Nov 7, 2003
    Hopefully you mean the HR22 model. :)

4. mikeny

mikeny Hall Of Fame

Aug 20, 2006
    This model can essentially become an HR. The OP posted the accurate model. Rereading, maybe that's what you were inferring..In any case just to be clear for the OP..

5. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    The R22 and HR22 are different boxes, despite the similarity in naming and basic architecture. The R22 is an SD MPEG4-capable receiver. It CAN access and view HD content, provided the subscriber has HD Access on his account and another HR2x box active. It has a 320gb drive, good for over 200 hours of SD and about 50 hours of HD. The HR22 is essentially an HR21 with a bigger drive - 500 gb.

6. jdspencer

jdspencer Hall Of Fame

Nov 7, 2003
    I misread the model number as H22 and then made my stupid reply. :(

7. The Merg

The Merg 1*

Jun 24, 2007
    Northern VA
    And while the R22 is a SD-DVR, it is based off of the architecture of the HR21.

- Merg

8. hilmar2k

hilmar2k Hall Of Fame

Mar 18, 2007
    Eh, it's early still, we'll cut you a break.....this time. ;)

9. thedawgg