1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

directv at my shop

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by nickh, Jul 18, 2012.

1. nickh

nickh New Member

Jul 18, 2012
    hi i'm new to directv, formerly a dish customer, i had dtv installed at my house and got an extra d12-100 receiver and used 18x20 dish with 3lnb. but when i installed them at my shop i've got no signal at all, thought the dish was blocked so i moved it up the hill it has a very clear shot to the south and still nothing so i thought the distance was too far, but when i took the receiver to the dish, still nothing, is the dish bad? the receiver works fine at home with my slimeline 5 dish, but when i changed it to the other dish type i got nothing, please help.

2. carl6

carl6 Moderator Staff Member DBSTalk Club

Nov 15, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    You need to search around a little for the satellite, it may take adjusting the dish several degrees either direction from the starting point. Also, with that particular dish you have, you start by aiming at 110, not 101.

The other possible issue is your D12 is set for SWM and the other dish is not SWM, you need the "multiswitch" option in dish setup.

I assume your shop is at the same address as your home - terms of service issue.

3. Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
    :welcome_s nickh!

Please tell me you have a commercial account for your shop? At least tell me that the TV isn't in a public area...

DIRECTV is really cracking down on people who share their residential service in their workplaces. It's a copyright thing and DIRECTV could get in even more trouble than you would. I know someone this happened to and the costs to make it right... not pretty.

4. RobTabor

RobTabor New Member

Jul 16, 2012
    X2 and Welcome to the site :D

5. nickh

nickh New Member

Jul 18, 2012