1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Directv on Demand

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by Art1, Oct 30, 2007.

1. Art1

Art1 Cool Member

May 16, 2007
    I am fairly new at this--in layman's terms what do I need to by to go wireless, how do I connect it in simple language. Also why can't I see Channel 1000 after the download this am? Question 2, how do you "hide" the SD channels without deleting them? Thanks!

2. turbo_oasis

turbo_oasis Legend

Jan 4, 2007
    Ther are several ways that you can do this.

Wireless:
    1) Wireless Router hooked up to you Cable/DSL/Internet Modem.
    2) Wireless Network adapter, since the usb port is not for use other than esata, you will need one of these Linksys Wireless Game Adapter

You could also run an ethernet cable to your wired/wireless router if that is feasible.

The last optionis to do what is known as powerline networking. This iswhen you buy 2 powerline network adapers that plug into you wall power socket and you can connect to a router that way. This technology is fairly new and I have never tried it yet, but some I have spoken to have had success with this method. See this link Linksys Powerline Adapters This way you can use the powerlines in your home/office/apt to connect to your newtok without drilling holes, etc.

3. politzer

politzer Legend

Sep 25, 2006
    I've got a 2wire wired/wireless modem that serves my network. I've got two laptops wirelessly connected to it as well as an Apple ITV and a desktop that is hardwired.
    I've got no connection at this point between my network and the HR20.

Am I going to need a router attached to the modem? If so, or not, how do I get the HR20 to talk to the network?