1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DirecTV's database of email accounts compromised

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by invaderzog, Apr 12, 2012.

1. invaderzog

invaderzog New Member

Apr 12, 2012
    I saw that there was a closed thread about this.

I can't post the link because I am new, but the thread ID is: 200922

I want to report the same thing. I am also an IT professional who creates unique email addresses on my mail server for various businesses. I stopped being a DirecTV customer years ago and the mailbox didn't get any activity until February. Since then, I have gotten a significant number of virus emails sent to that address.

It seems highly likely that this represents a breach in DirecTV's security.

I'm not sure who or how to report this to DirecTV. Customer Service Agents were (understandably) unable to route my call to corporate IT/security.

2. wahooq

wahooq DBSTalk Club DBSTalk Club

Oct 19, 2011
    Tulsa, OK
    Dude...seriously? that was like 4 months ago and nothing ever became of it

3. invaderzog

invaderzog New Member

Apr 12, 2012
    When you say, "nothing ever came of it", do you mean that attempts were made to contact DirecTV and they ignored it?

I sent an email to their Fraud Division requesting that the email be forwarded to their IT Security group, but I'm mostly expecting to be ignored.

If that's the case, then perhaps it might be time to see if anyone in the media cares.

4. dpeters11

dpeters11 Hall Of Fame

May 30, 2007
    Cincinnati
    I haven't looked at that thread sine it's closure, but i do remember it. You can certainly try it, but I doubt it. Spam is too mundane and too many other possibilities other than their address list being hacked.

I don't even try to fight spam anymore. If it goes in the spam filter fine. If not, I mark as spam and move on.

5. invaderzog

invaderzog New Member

Apr 12, 2012