1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you use the mouse with your right or left hand?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by Chris Blount, Jun 22, 2003.

1. Chris Blount

Chris Blount Creator of DBSTalk Staff Member Administrator DBSTalk Gold Club

Jun 22, 2001
    I've been using a mouse since 1990. My first mouse driven computer was the Amiga A-500. Ever since then I have been using my right hand. Over the past year or so, I've been getting pain in my wrist (probably Carpal Tunnel but I'm too afraid to go to the doctor to find out). I have now switched to my left hand.

Ever since 1990, I have spent many hours on the computer both at home and at work so it's understandable that this has happened. What is very interesting is that switching to my left hand was not all that difficult and Windows makes it easy by allowing users to switch the mouse buttons around in the control panel.

2. Jacob S

Jacob S Hall Of Fame

Apr 14, 2002
    I use my right hand since I am right handed.

3. TopCat99

TopCat99 Godfather/Supporter

Nov 3, 2002
    Right hand does the mouse, touchpad, and if I'm unfortunate enough to work on an antique wiht the joystick thingamabobber, it gets right pointer finger.

A bit off topic, but is anyone else like this: I'm perfectly coordinated/ambidextrous when it comes to typing, but I can't do really anything else (at least not well) with my left hand. You should see me try to dial a rotary phone with the left one :lol:

4. firephoto

firephoto Icon

Sep 12, 2002
    I saw this awhile back, it keeps you from having to twist your wrist.
    http://www.handshakemouse.com/
    There's this one too.
    http://www.quillmouse.com/
    http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,1034216,00.asp (a review)