1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Explain dithering

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by peters4n6, Feb 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peters4n6

peters4n6 Legend

Jun 19, 2007
    Dithering (as per wikipedia):

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dithering

Sounds awfully mathematical and engineering-oid.

At least when it comes to satellite aiming/calibration, I'm a newb. When I get my 5-LNB installed, will it be enough to say, "Don't forget to dither the thing," or will I need a bit more specialized knowledge to get the best alignment. Any advice would be appreciated. I did a search and failed to come up with anything except consensus that dithering is important.

eric

2. doctor j

doctor j Hall Of Fame DBSTalk Club

Jun 14, 2006
    Birmingham, Al.
  3. SledDog

SledDog Icon

May 5, 2007
  4. Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson Lifetime Achiever DBSTalk Club

Nov 15, 2005
    It can also be done with patience and the satellite meters built into a receiver.

Cheers,
    Tom

5. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    "Explain dithering" [as it pertains to dish alignment].
    When the 5 LNB dish first came out not every one had meters that could read the new SATs [Ka], so the goal was to center off the older Ku SATs, but Ku is a broader beam than the Ka beams. "Just" tuning to a strong level from Ku, could still be off center on the Ka.
    "Dithering" is to find the sides of the Ku beam, by fine tuning to a given level on each side of the beam and then finding the exact point in the middle [which the meter wouldn't show]. If you have the Ku set to the exact middle, then the narrower Ka "should be" aligned.
    Now that there are meters that read Ka and the software has been updated on the receivers, you can peak the dish off the Ka SATs using either.