1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Look report on new SWM8

Discussion in 'DIRECTV - Special Request Legacy Items (private)' started by hdtvfan0001, Oct 11, 2008.

1. hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001 Well-Known Member

Jul 28, 2004
    I thought I'd write up a summary of my experiences on the new SWM8 that I just received yesterday, as well as its installation. I'd encourage others who have been fortunate enough to participate in this new SWM8 release to do the same.

First, let me say that I am glad to be part of the testing team - Doug and DirecTV - thank you for the opportunity.

I have previously received, installed, and tested an SWM5 in my location, with plenty of practice in installing brand new compression connectors, cables, splitters, and diplexers. I've been lucky enought to test other equipment in the past as well, so I am a bit of a veteran....but always learn new things every time I go through this process.

My installation involved the setup of 2 devices. First, I removed my SWM5 and reconfigured the installation via a replacement by the SWM8. Second, I then used the SWM5 to replace an aging Zinwell WB8 multiswitch.

Since I already had a series of 4 (5-2300Mhz Skywalker Model SKY23302D) splitters connected from the outputs of my Sonora Power Inserter unit, I already had the heavy lifting in place to run 2 parallel SWM units. (note: in the photos, you will see a white low-voltage cabinet, which now contains my SWM5 - that is where the second set of Dish outputs leads to).

The other elements I leveraged included the removal of 2 diplexers for OTA (to 2 HR20-700's), which were no longer needed, since I reran my OTA to the SWM8 and through the SWM1 and SMW2 outputs to the HD DVRs in the new layout.