1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

GenieGo Oddity?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by mrdobolina, May 1, 2014.

Tags:
  1. mrdobolina

    mrdobolina AllStar

    389
    14
    Aug 28, 2006
    A Mile High
    I am noticing something kind of bizarre right now. First, some details:

    3 DVRs on our system: HR24, HR22, and and HR44. Everything is on our home network and dialed into the internet via a direct connection from our router to the HR44. GenieGo is in the same cabinet as our router and HR44. I have 5 devices on the GG: My Samsung GSIII and my Dell laptop use the GG the most. My wife's iPad2 and iPhone 5 use the GG a little, and our home PC hardly ever uses it. About 2 weeks ago, I added a 32gb USB drive to the GG.

    My 2 devices are almost daily users of the GG. I prepare, watch, and then delete shows off of my devices and subsequently off of the DVRs that they reside on at home. However, I don't always delete the shows off of the DVR at home (so they should stay on the GG, right?).

    So today, I'm watching Legit on my PC. I finish and I delete it. That's when I notice in the upper right hand corner of the GG "app" on my PC that I have 19 programs in the "download" area. I click into the download area, and 1 movie is preparing, and 18 others are "waiting to prepare". The weird thing is, these are all programs that have been prepared before! Right now it is preparing "Man of Steel", which I had prepared 3 weeks ago, watched on my PC and kept on my PC for future viewing. The file is still on my PC (hasn't expired yet), and when I clicked on it, it shows the preparing bar as well as the play and delete from PC buttons.

    Is this right? Does the GG periodically "refresh" the files that have been prepared?
     
  2. dennisj00

    dennisj00 Hall Of Fame

    9,673
    189
    Sep 27, 2007
    Lake Norman, NC
    There's a report of a GG firmware upgrade in another thread today. Perhaps that's what triggered the re-transcodes.
     
  3. mrdobolina

    mrdobolina AllStar

    389
    14
    Aug 28, 2006
    A Mile High
    Yeah, I saw that and thought the same. I'm leaning that way.

    The other thing I have discovered is that, so far, I am unable to cancel the preparing. I am out of home right now, but both my PC and my GSIII tell me that everything is "being prepared for others". I'll have to check my wife's devices when I get home.

    It kind of stinks, because I have other shows that I'll want to prepare for viewing tomorrow and I doubt they'll be ready with 18 shows (a mix of movies, 1 hour shows, and half hour shows) queued up to prepare in front of the shows I want for tomorrow.
     

Share This Page