1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

GenieGO storage capacity remaining

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by Socalmike, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. Socalmike

    Socalmike New Member

    12
    0
    Jan 29, 2009
    Just started working with GeneiGo. At first I was very disappointed with the time to load to my tablet (Galaxy 2 10.1). It was downloading at a rate of 1 to1 for the length of the program. After some research I found that you can pre download programs (still at 1 to1) to the GenieGo accessed through the PC app. Then downloading to the tablet for a 2 hour program would then complete in 6 to 7 minutes. This is much more acceptable!
    The question now is how do I see the remaining storage capacity on the GenieGo?
    Thank you
     
  2. Steve

    Steve DIRECTV A-Team

    23,032
    147
    Aug 22, 2006
    Lower...
    A transcode is a 2-step operation. Conversion and copy.

    The GenieGo converts the program at 1:1 and stores it in GenieGo's memory, after which it automtically copies the file to whichever client requested it, whether it be a tablet, smartphone or PC. Once it's transcoded, a copy of the show is also kept in GenieGo memory. That show will appear as "ready to download" to another GenieGo client. That subsequent copy is fast, because the 1:1 conversion step is already done.

    To see how much memory is left in the GenieGo, go to "help", "system info" on the client. DirecTV quotes a more conservative number, but in my experience you can store about 25 hours of HD on a stock GenieGo before the oldest transcode will be deleted to make room for the newest.

    Also, once a show is deleted from your DVR, it gets deleted from GenieGo memory as well. Any copy of that show already on one of your clients won't be automatically deleted for 30 days, however.
     
  3. Socalmike

    Socalmike New Member

    12
    0
    Jan 29, 2009
    Thank you for the explanation
     
  4. dennisj00

    dennisj00 Hall Of Fame

    9,673
    189
    Sep 27, 2007
    Lake Norman, NC
    And with today's USB memory prices you can add 16 or 32 GB very cheaply. And it adds to the 16 of GG.
     

Share This Page