1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

H21 or H24, which one has optical?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by lipcrkr, Apr 30, 2012.

1. lipcrkr

lipcrkr Legend

Apr 27, 2012
    My installation arrives Wednesday, i'm new to DirecTV. I read a previous post, about two years ago, that the H24 doesn't have optical? My A/V receiver and my Cable box have optical. I want surround sound 5.1 to go along with my HD receiver. Everything will be hooked up (minus the DirecTV box) until he arrives. But will he have both boxes on the truck to see my setup? I use HDMI but i use an optical link from my my TV to a Cable modem so i can get sound from my PC which is connected to the TV.

2. RunnerFL

RunnerFL DIRECTV A-Team

Jan 4, 2006
    The H21 has an optical output, the H24 does not. You'll be very lucky if the installer has an H21.

3. samrs

samrs MANC DBSTalk Club

May 30, 2004
    Flat Branch, NC
  4. dualsub2006

dualsub2006 Icon

Aug 28, 2007
    When my PC was connected to my TV I did optical out of the TV for sound and it worked fine through my sound system.

Is there something special about your setup?

5. RAD

RAD DIRECTV A-Team

Aug 5, 2002
    Dripping...
    Most TV's optical output won't pass a DD5.1, except for an OTA/ATSC station, they'll just pass DD2.0 audio when using an HDMI input.

6. mdavej

mdavej Hall Of Fame

Jan 30, 2007