1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HD DVR HR24-100 Problems

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by overwilhelmed, Oct 8, 2010.

1. Oct 8, 2010 #1 of 11
    overwilhelmed

overwilhelmed New Member

Oct 8, 2010
    Hi all –

This is my first time posting, so I apologize for any details that I may leave out. I currently have a DirecTV dish (not sure exactly on make) connected to my house through a SWM system with currently 2 HD receivers (one the HR24) and 1 standard receiver.

This past weekend everything with my system was fine. Last night, however, I went to watch some TV on my HD DVR (last time watching on it was this past Sunday) and started running into problems. Everything seemed fine for about 5 minutes, then the picture went blocky until it eventually went out (received 771 message on SAT input 2, only SAT input 1 is used). All of my readings for the signal strength read 0. I disconnected the power and reset which resulted in the receiver getting stuck on the setup screen with a 771A error.

I turned everything off and check other receivers in the house to see if they had issues, which they did not. I watched a little TV on another receiver before going back to the HD DVR to see its status. This time I got some TV, again for a couple of minutes, then it went out again.

Anyone have ideas on what may be the problem? I can provide more details as necessary.

2. Oct 8, 2010 #2 of 11
    Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek Well-Known Member

Jun 13, 2009
    Did you try to switch the receivers around to see if the problem follows? Before you do that though, it would be wise to just check the connectors on the cable to make sure they are tight.

3. Oct 8, 2010 #3 of 11
    overwilhelmed

overwilhelmed New Member

Oct 8, 2010