1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help, how to record new shows only

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by csuhy, Aug 19, 2010.

1. csuhy

csuhy New Member

Aug 19, 2010
    I am brand new to direct tv and really really miss my dish remote control as it was soooo easy to record shows. My problem is I record news shows for ex. Bill O'Reilly and want to set my remote to record at 11:00 pm mon-fri. I have tried everything and it ends up recording at 8pm, 11,pm and 5am even though I chose first . I even went into manual record but when I did that it did not show that I recorded it. Also do I have to go thru each day I want to record it? Also I want to record new shows only for ex. Leverage. I can end up with 2 leverages, 1 older plus the new one. Dish would let me pick a show and shows options of All, Once, New, Weekly, Daily and M-F. How easy is that?!!! I went to the tips page but am still lost. I guess I need really simple 1, 2, 3 instructions! I regret so much switching and had I known Dish was getting local channels in HD this week I would NEVER had switched:nono2: Please help so I can enjoy my decision. thanks, cherie

2. James Long

James Long Ready for Uplink! Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Apr 17, 2003
    Michiana
    :welcome_s

If you choose "new" you will get the first "new" program regardless of the time of day. Repeats will be skipped as they are not new. However if the program in the guide is not dated the receiver protects you by considering it new. Hence the multiple recordings of O'Riley. (Today's 8pm ET edition is dated 8-19 but the replays are not accurately dated.

The best solution is to set a M-F or daily timer for the show at the time you want to record it. (Not a manual timer, but when setting up the timer select M-F or daily instead of new or all).