1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

help to cut cable: stage one

Discussion in 'Local Reception' started by greenyonline, Apr 3, 2014.

1. greenyonline

greenyonline New Member

Apr 3, 2014
    North Port,...
    Newbie here, longtime cable customer who's had enough. I need antenna advise.
    I live in North Port, southwest Florida. The two major OTA directions are ESE (Fort Meyers) and N. (Tampa area) See the TV Fool report.
    I have mounted a 10ft pole to the side of the house and will add another length to that to get the antenna about 8ft above roof level.
    I have existing cables (next to the pole location) to just a living room TV (Mitsubishi WD65733 1080P tv with digital tuner) and no additions planned.
    I have looked at MANY antennas online and need direction. (yes, meant as a pun)
    Bay type (DB8e or equivalent) Traditional type (CM5018 or equivalent) Yagi type (XG91 or equivalent) OR some combination of two of these????????
    A rotor looks like a forgone conclusion.....that would be good......one decision made.

Help would be greatly appreciated. Some neighbors have have one type or another but some folks need to defend their purchase rather than give good unbiased opinions. I understand that, just human nature. I plan to keep my internet connection for now. I'll actually upgrade as the download/upload with the lower tier package is a little lame. So this is stage one, initial changeover.
    TVFool1.jpg

2. sregener

sregener Godfather

Apr 17, 2012