1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. chicagoland

chicagoland New Member

Feb 22, 2007
    With the proposed buyout of T-Mobile by AT&T, I may soon need to start shopping for a home VoIP provider. I currently use T-Mobile @Home service which is no longer sold to customers and I am sure AT&T will drop this service when they are in control. I have been using this service for over 2 years and it has been great. You can't beat the price of $9.99/month for unlimited calling in the US, call-waiting, caller-ID, voicemail, etc. I have used AT&T Call Vantage, Vonage, and Comcast VoIP in the past without much trouble. I am just looking at alternatives in regards to price. AT&T U-Verse and Comcast VoIP are costly compared to the rest. Any one use and recommend anything? I have my eyes on Ooma and Lingo at the moment due to price.

2. bonscott87

bonscott87 Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

Jan 21, 2003
    Been using Vonage for over 5 years, never had a problem. The price is still pretty good other then they had to add on a bunch of the taxes and fees after being sued by Verizon a couple years ago. But still cheaper then just about anything else. I've looked into Ooma and frankly would go to it but the upfront cost isn't going to save me a whole lot since I'm already paying a cheap rate. Payoff is 2-3 years. But I may crack and get it anyway at some point.

3. Phil T

Phil T Well-Known Member DBSTalk Club

Mar 25, 2002
    Littleton,...
    I have used MagicJack for about a year and I am very satisfied. Some folks claim they sell your information or generate spam. I have had no issues and never get any promotional calls. It could be because I registered the number on the national no call list. I did have a few issues when it was on my Vista desktop. It is now connected to a MacMini and works great. I use it with a Uniden DECT 6.0, 4 handset system.