1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you search for upcoming shows?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by chazworth, Apr 30, 2010.

1. chazworth

chazworth New Member

Oct 13, 2009
    I am new to DirecTV (since last fall), and I really like the service and the DVR. A couple of things really bug me, though. The issue with the "Channels I get" filter showing channels that I don't get is one. I know that this is a long-time frustration.

The second thing that bugs is the inability to perform a proper search for upcoming shows. I know that the onscreen search capabilities were recently upgraded, and they do work much better than before. However, it is very tedious using the remote to type and use the onscreen search, so I rarely use it. My preference is to use the online (web) search capability to find shows. However, when using the online search, it is so basic as to be almost useless. General flaws include: No ability to limit the search to categories (kids, movies, sports, etc.), No ability to drill down further from an initial search, the search seems to find shows that I don't subscribe to. In general, it is rudimentary and lame. As a result, we use the DVR far less frequently than we would if we could do good, power searches.

Am I alone in my frustration? How do you use the search functionality to make it work for your needs? Any planned upgrades from DirecTV that you are aware of?

2. netraa

netraa Godfather

Mar 27, 2007
    There have been MAJOR improvements in the CIG problem, and it actually appears they may be moving in on a true fix for it.

As for the search, you can use 'tripple tap' like you do for sending a text message on your phone...

press the number 2, two times for a 'b', or the number 3, three times for a 'f'