1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How durable are slimline dishes?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by uscpsycho, Dec 20, 2011.

1. uscpsycho

uscpsycho Mentor

Oct 23, 2008
    I have a slimline dish that I use for tailgating. At the start of the season my HD reception was intermittent. It woul drop and come back over and over. Then I could only get SD and no HD channels. By the end of the season I couldn't get HD or SD.

I hire a guy to transport all my tailgating gear from the tailgate to storage and back every week. I imagine it's not handled with white gloves but the dish doesn't show signs of damage (dents, etc.). I've always assumed the dishes were pretty durable since they have to endure 24/7/365 in extreme climates. But not sure how durable they are against physcial banging around.

Note that I've been using this same dish for three or four years now and this is the first season that I've had any trouble with it. What do you guys think, is it time for a new dish or could there be some other explanation?

Appreciate any insights...

2. Davenlr

Davenlr Geek til I die

Sep 16, 2006
    Other than the reflector being warped, which should be noticeable, your symptoms are more representative of bad coax connector, either on/in the LNB, or the coax itself (especially if it gets walked on, or driven over).

3. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    Not so fast...
    I know of a few good installers who only find a "bad dish" after not being able to get good levels.
    They can get "tweaked enough" to not work well, and yet show no signs of damage.

4. Davenlr

Davenlr Geek til I die

Sep 16, 2006