1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hr20 hard drive question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by parenaj22, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. parenaj22

parenaj22 New Member

Jun 17, 2007
    is there any way to use my old hd for my pc. old hard drive meaning i have upgraded from 320 to 500 and i could use the space in my pc im running windows thanks

2. Koz

Koz Icon

Sep 16, 2006
    Sure, if you have an open SATA port. Just plug it in, format it, and off you go.

3. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    My only concern is that unless you have an owned (NOT leased) box, Directv might have something to say about you meddling with the innards of their box. Just my tuppence of course.

4. parenaj22

parenaj22 New Member

Jun 17, 2007
    i have plugged it in and windows will not boot i have also tryed plugging it in after windows boot the hd does not show up anyware then i went to addhardware and it was found buy when i try to add my pc shuts down and wont boot until i unhook the sata what am i doing wrong please help.

5. houskamp

houskamp Active Member

Sep 14, 2006
    Heard some reports that in a PC it is slow to start and therefore doesn't always show up..

6. Koz

Koz Icon

Sep 16, 2006
    Hmm... That's over my head. I just know it's an off the shelf SATA drive and theoretically should work.

7. mikek

mikek Godfather

May 17, 2007
    I doubt you will get it to work. Dont waste your time. I already wasted enough for both of us. The HDD from the HR20-100 needs a spin-up command from the HR20.

You would have to load a new firmware on it and I haven't been able to do that.