1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HR21...can one tuner get weak and die?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by peters4n6, Dec 19, 2008.

1. peters4n6

peters4n6 Legend

Jun 19, 2007
    setup is hr21 via SWM8. Tuner 2 signal strength strong and steady @ 90+%; Tuner 1 fluctuates wildly between 74 and 85%. As a result I get a lot of pixellation and dropouts of channels. I have two other HR21 units in the house with solid signal strengths so it's not a global problem. Since there is only one RG6 coming into the back of the HR21 and the signal is split internally, mustn't the ONLY problem be a bad tuner in the box?

eric

2. cmtar

cmtar Icon

Nov 16, 2005
    could be the LNB or cables but to answer your question can a tuner die, i would say yes.

3. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Not likely to be an LNB issue if the signal strengths on the rest of your boxes are fine and it's only one tuner on the affected box that has issues.

You could try powering down the entire system (all receivers and the SWM), powering on the SWM and then individually booting each box several minutes apart to make sure there's nothing wonky going on with the SWM control channel and communications between it and the affected receiver. If that doesn't clear it up, I'd suspect you do have a hardware issue with your tuner on that receiver.

4. awoehler

awoehler AllStar

Jan 2, 2008
    my HR20-100S died in the same way. They did the LNB's first, then checked the cables, and in the end I got a brand new HR23.

5. Richierich

Richierich Hall Of Fame

Jan 10, 2008
    Definitely the Tuners can die or start malfunctioning. LNBs can die also but it is not an LNB problem but a Tuner Malfunction.

6. jodyguercio

jodyguercio Active Member

Aug 16, 2007
    +1. This is a good place to start.

7. peters4n6

peters4n6 Legend

Jun 19, 2007