1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hr34-buyer beware

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by sammib, Oct 15, 2012.

1. sammib

sammib AllStar

Jun 13, 2007
    Had my HR34 for three weeks now. Have had to do about 10 RBRs, in that time. The thing locks up, freezes, crashes, or whatever you want to call it. Only RBRs fix it. Also am having trouble with PPV which seems to be related to HDMI handshake with my Denon receiver. I'm not tech savvy as are many people on this site. I don't have MRV or eSATA or RVU client. I don't even have a clue what that stuff is. The wife has an HR20/700 and our boxes are not otherwise connected. My old HR20 was poopin out so I opted for the HR34. If I had to do it again I would hold off at least another 6-12 months. To me, the hassle is NOT worth it.

2. JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

Dec 11, 2006
    Long Island, NY
    I got mine about a month ago and I'm not having a single issue.

3. Yoda-DBSguy

Yoda-DBSguy Hall Of Fame

Nov 4, 2006
    A Galaxy...
    From all that you described, I suggest you have a truck roll out for a service call as this is not the norm for an HR34. It sounds like you might have a line problem to that receiver location or even possibly a defective receiver itself---however I opt for the first as the culprit expecially if you had the "poopin out HR20" in the same location as the new HR34....

4. sigma1914

sigma1914 Well-Known Member DBSTalk Club

Sep 5, 2006
    Allen, TX
    Did you consider your box might be faulty? You can have it replaced. Your results aren't normal.

5. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    While I wouldn't call them "a piece of cake", I also wouldn't expect mine to be that much trouble either.

If you think you may have a HDMI issue, have you tried using component?