1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I tipped my installer.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by whitepelican, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Aug 5, 2008 #1 of 26
    whitepelican

whitepelican Godfather

May 9, 2007
    I only point this out, because I've never done so before. In fact, I've always assumed that people like cable/satellite installers, carpet installers, and furniture delivery guys are just doing their jobs and getting paid for it, so I never really considered tipping them. But I was so impressed with the job the DirecTV installer did at my new house the other day, that I gave the guy a tip when he finished. I wish I could remember the name of the company he worked for, but I believe he said they've only been doing the installs in Green Bay for a month or so after the previous company went out of business.

As for the install: I was scheduled for an 8-12 time slot, and he called just before 8AM to ask if it would be OK to push my time back until right around noon. He had looked at the work order and got nervous when he saw it was to install a new dish and 4 DVRs, so he was worried about how long it might take. I told him that was fine and I appreciated the call.