1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a reason to upgrade from 100 to 700?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by PaulQ, Jul 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulQ

PaulQ New Member

Jul 28, 2007
    Newbie here. After 2 months of installation insanity, I am seeing HD TV!

I have been exploring these boards and read quite a bit about the HR20-100 and HR20-700. I am pretty sure I have the 100. I read the thread that (sort of) explains the differences between the two. Is there any pressing reason I should try to get DirecTV to swap out my boxes?

Based on the info here, I can't tell?

Thanks!!
    :)

2. PoitNarf

PoitNarf New Member

Aug 19, 2006
    Welcome to DBSTalk :D

The 100 is just as good as the 700. Really no reason to swap it. Except for some very minor hardware differences, they are basically the same.

3. Ken S

Ken S RIP

Feb 12, 2007
    The 100 is actually the "newer" model of the two. Both are functionally the same though.

4. Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain Active Member

Dec 7, 2006
    Press and hold the info button on the remote.

When the screen repopulates with the system information, you can easily tell if it is a -100 or -700.

There is no reason to swap out one for the other. Turn it on and have fun. They are basically the exact same unit with the exception of who the OEM manufacturer is.

You have located one of the best forums in the world for discussing and help on the Directv HR20.

Welcome to the forum and have fun here as well!

5. alaskahill

alaskahill AllStar

Jul 15, 2007
    No need for understating it.... I can't think of another forum that comes remotely close to the info you can get here.:)

6. sbl

sbl Icon DBSTalk Club

Jul 21, 2007