1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost most my channels

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Phitocell, Sep 9, 2013.

1. Sep 9, 2013 #1 of 11
    Phitocell

Phitocell New Member

Sep 9, 2013
    Hello everyone. Thanks for the forum I've been a long time lurker but I finally got frustrated enough to join.
    So any help would be greatly appreciated. For starters I'm not an expert in any means but consider myself teachable and handy. With that I have DirecTV with a slimline 5 dish and a HR 23-700 reciever. I started losing channels I noticed a week or so ago, not all but certain ones like history, espn, and some others. It started that I would lose them at certain times of the day, mainly mid day. However eventually I lost them for good. Sometimes it will say searching for satelite on input 1 and sometimes it will say input 2. I checked my signal strengths and they seem fine from what I know. What I don't know is how the different satellites 99, 101, 110, etc work because I seem to get signal on 110 except for 4 12 20 28 transponders, reading I gues those are "spot" and I do get my local channels. However the other 99, 110 I don't think I am getting from them, and that is where my common sense ends. I think I might have a bad LNB but like I said I really don't understand how it all works so I don't know. Thanks for anyone who takes the time to read this and let me know what you think.

2. Sep 9, 2013 #2 of 11
    Phitocell

Phitocell New Member

Sep 9, 2013
    Also the dish itself has surface rust on it would that cause problems?

3. Sep 9, 2013 #3 of 11
    Sward81333

Sward81333 New Member

Mar 29, 2011
    This happened to me as well -- you've got the same symptoms. Your dish needs to be realigned. Call DirecTV and they'll send out the installer -- free if you've got the Protection Plan.

4. Sep 9, 2013 #4 of 11
    peds48

peds48 Genius. DBSTalk Club

Jan 10, 2008