1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost Recorded Programs after Reset

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by pv66298, Jul 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pv66298

    pv66298 New Member

    1
    0
    Jul 20, 2007
    My recently upgraded HD-DVR froze while searching for an OTA signal and I was unable to do anything. I finally hit the red reset button under the lower right panel (as I have done in the past successfully when a bug hits). The unit went dead for longer than normal (it seemed) and when it finally returned and went through its initialization, I received a message that my interface had automatically been upgraded. I thought this was strange since that had taken place already, but it didn't immediately concern me. After I was able to return to full functionality, I discovered that my playlist was empty (~ 20 hours of both SD and HD content previously recorded was just flat gone!), my custom channel listing was no more, my to-do list of future program requests was gone and any other customizations that I had done were gone. What happened and do I have ANY recourse to get my programs back or any reason to believe that this won't happen again sometime? The DVR is ALMOST infinitely better than my old VCR, but I never had recorded programs simply disappear from tape without warning. Since keeping programs around that were previously recorded is the single major purpose of a DVR, I consider this a SERIOUS bug! Any information or suggestions about the situation or resolutions would be helpful because DirecTV Tech Support had nothing to say about it and the tech even said that she had never heard of this before!
     
  2. Earl Bonovich

    Earl Bonovich Lifetime Achiever

    30,092
    3
    Nov 15, 2005
    Sounds like that you may have a hardware failure (with the drive).
    Which could have caused your original lockup...

    When you power cycled the drive, it attempted to recover from the issues, but couldn't. It then in turn re-initilizes the drive...

    Which would also explain why you got the notice about the upgraded GUI.
     
  3. bto4wd

    bto4wd Duplicate User (Account Closed)

    522
    0
    Apr 17, 2007
    Would the automatic upgrade notice come from x17E being loaded? Were there any reports of x17E wiping Playlist during the CE process?

    PV66298, which model HR20 do you have? -700 or -100? If -700 what software version do you have? x168 or x17E.

    If the problem was a hardware/drive failure wouldn't the unit still exhibit they type of problem?
     
  4. Earl Bonovich

    Earl Bonovich Lifetime Achiever

    30,092
    3
    Nov 15, 2005
    The message is still in the code, so if the hard drive was re-initilized... what ever "flag" is set by the system (So you don't see the message again), would have also been re-set.

    As for the 0x17E wiping playlist (which in this case here... was much more then that, since all SL's and favorites where lost as well)...

    0x17E didn't go into CE, but the code base it was based off (The entire CE cycle). I don't recall a report of the entire drive being reinitilized.

    If it is a physical issue with the harddrive/hardware error, yes... at some point it could occur again. But just like a bad sector on a drive, you don't know it is there until you hit it again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page