1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making the move to satellite -questions

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Novice, Aug 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Novice

Novice Cool Member

Aug 24, 2003
    Finally asking for help in making a decision. I am an ex-big dish user and am currently on cable, (am I allowed to say Comcast?). From all I've read Directv seems to be the best option. I definitely want a dvr, minimum 80 hrs. and also don't want to give up ny big screen PIP option. I understand Samsung is coming out with a dvr, larger drive and PIP capability - any word on this other than rumor. Sorry to be so wordy, this is my first attempt at a message (query) and will try to be more concise in future. All suggestions (not rude) will be read and appreciated.
    What does post a poll mean??

2. Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz Day Sleeper DBSTalk Club

Mar 23, 2002
    Sacramento, CA
    At this time, the only DirecTV DVR receivers that are currently available is Hughes HDVR2 (which does NOT record HDTV), Phillips DSR-7000, and RCA's DVR39. All three are essentially the same unit as they come from the same factory with only some cosmetic differences. However, you can easily expand the units to hold up to 2 120MB hard drives, giving you over 200 hours of record time. Making this modification will void your warranty. There are companies that will perform the hard drive expansion for you.

There have been some announcements of some DirecTV DVRs with larger hard drives, but they are currently not available for sale yet. The price will be higher. Also with no release date set is a DVR with HD recording capabilities.

The DirecTV PVRs all use the TiVo software. There is a $4.99 fee for the feature unless you subscribe to Total Choice Premium.