1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

Mounting Question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Akronviper, Aug 2, 2011.

1. Aug 2, 2011 #1 of 12
    Akronviper

Akronviper New Member

Aug 2, 2011
    Hey newbie here, I had an install on Monday and the installer took one look at the trees in my back yard and said no way. Which sucked cause I allready had a neighbors tree cut down just for them. So he had the supervisor come out and he found a LOS at the front of my yard (back of side walk and I live accross the street from a school...lol ) So the other 2 trees I had issues with I cut down today.

My question is since I should be able to do a roof mount instead of a pole mount now do I need to contact them and let them know or is the roof kit standard with the dish. I dont want the guy to be able to put it on the roof but have to reschedule again since all he has is a roof mount or should I contact them to have the supervisor do another survey since my install is Friday :confused:

2. Aug 2, 2011 #2 of 12
    jdspencer

jdspencer Hall Of Fame

Nov 7, 2003
    For peace of mind, I'd call and ask these questions.

3. Aug 2, 2011 #3 of 12
    joe diamond

joe diamond Hall Of Fame

Feb 28, 2007
    Don't worry,

Most techs won't install on a roof; too many customers like you! If it won't go on the edge of the building they just punt. Dishes on poles don't cause roof leaks. The installer can charge extra to do it.....Also, easier to service in the future.

Pay for it and enjoy FREE Sunday Ticket.