1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving to Satellite...need help

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by dmmatic, Sep 19, 2011.

1. dmmatic

dmmatic New Member

Sep 19, 2011
    I need your help. I have been using Tivo for 8 years and beside that I have never used DirecTV or Dish. Although I was/am very happy with what Tivo had to offer my new Tivo Premiere died and I since I am out of warranty I do not want to pay $99 for a new unit and $20/monthly or $150 for refurbished unit and keep my current plan. Although, I don't think their offer is too bad, I already paid once in full for a new box and when I compare Cox cable rate that I am currently paying I think I can get a good deal with DrecTV or Dish.

I just have few questions for experts instead of sales people...

1. I have only one coaxial cable line coming to my TV box, and since my TV is kind of in the middle of the first floor, running additional line will create additional expense. So my question is, for HD-DVR with the satellite, will I need one or two lines in order to watch/record 2 shows.
    2. Can I transfer any files from my computer so that I can wants them on Dish/DirecTV DRV-s
    3. Can I use YouTube on Dish/DirecTV DRV-s
    4. With Tivo you have Thumbs Up/Down, does Dish/DirecTV DRV-s has anything similar?
    5. For people who used both Tivo and Dish/DirecTV DRV-s, anything cool features that satellite DVR has and Tivo doesn't?

2. mini1

mini1 Icon

Jan 25, 2004
    I'm going to answer for DirecTV seeing this is the DirecTV section.
    1.) DirecTV's SWM system allows for only one coax run to an HD DVR. The signal is split internally in the HD DVR, kind of like cable TV.
    2.) Not that I know of.
    3.) Yes, you can stream YouTube on the HR24 assuming you have the cinema kit connected to the internet or you have the receiver directly connected to the internet.