1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MRV Beta Question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by bustert, Mar 18, 2010.

1. bustert

bustert Mentor

Sep 14, 2007
    I have 3 HR 20's (one with external drive) on my LAN and all work for MRV, but not very well. Some recorded programs viewed on a remote HR, either have audio dropouts or complete playback stutter. It may be that non HD works better than HD recordings, I've not completely verified that yet. Playback on the unit that recorded is fine.

Is this an indication of my LAN being deficient or that the MRV system is not debugged? My understanding is that since it was offered to me with the equipment I have that it should work.

I'd appreciate any information and assist on this.

Thanks

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    First off, what software versions are your HR20's running? If they're still on 0x395, it'll get MUCH better with 0x3A8. Second, what is your network infrastructure like? A description of the hardware and topology would help.

3. dave29

dave29 New Member

Feb 18, 2007
    From everything that I have seen and read...........

You are using the BETA version and it will eventually turn into a $3/month extra. At that time, MRV will only be supported by Directv if you use their DECA set-up.
    You can use your ethernet set-up, but it won't be supported.

4. bustert

bustert Mentor

Sep 14, 2007
    I have the 3A8 version.

5. bustert

bustert Mentor

Sep 14, 2007
    My network setup. I'm not a techie in this regard but this is what I know.

A 2WIRE wireless router from the phone co, far from there is a netgear F 5608 8 port switch.