1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multi Room Viewing with same box

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by ndirishkmk, Feb 26, 2012.

Tags:
  1. ndirishkmk

ndirishkmk New Member

Feb 26, 2012
    Hello!

I have 2 boxes currently, but have two other rooms which i may want to occasionally watch tv in. I don't want to pay for separate boxes because i may use them once a month or less. Is there a way to split the signal from my existing boxes to accomplish this? Or am i better off just getting an internet connected blu-ray and using that instead of bothering with directv? If there's a way to accomplish this, how do I do it? (I'm a newbie!)

Thanks!

2. NR4P

NR4P Dad

Jan 15, 2007
    Sunny Florida
    Not sure what boxes you have but most have an HDMI output and Component and Composite outputs as well.

Typically you can run the HDMI cable to the TV at the box and then run Component or Composite video/audio with coaxial cable/RCA jacks to the remote TV's at a reasonable cost.

3. RACJ2

RACJ2 Hall Of Fame

Aug 2, 2008
    Yes its possible to do that. You can start with something as simple as using the HDMI output to connect the local TV. And component and composite outputs for the other TV's. To using wireless HDMI connections costing hundreds of dollars. If you search the existing threads, you will find this discussed many times. Here is a [link] to one of the most recent threads. And welcome to DBStalk!

4. ndirishkmk

ndirishkmk New Member

Feb 26, 2012
    Thank you!! Sorry to not search first but I wasn't exactly sure what to search for!!

Question on one of the option from that thread. One user suggests an HDMI extender converting cat5e/6 to hdmi.