1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need advice for HD upgrade

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by El Rey De Boxeo, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. El Rey De Boxeo

El Rey De Boxeo New Member

Oct 10, 2006
    I am a newbie to the forum and all the technical speak going on in here. I am in need of some advice and was wondering if you guys could help me.

I recently had my place gut renovated and they routed the coax through the walls (3 single output points around the apt) and out the side of the house. I have to get the new cable reconnected to the dish mounted on the chimney as the old connection was severed.

I have a standard dish and reciever, but want to upgrade to HD as well as DVR capability. I have a 36" Sony XBR Wega tube that is HD capable.

Questions:
    1) Should I go with the HR20 or H20 & seperate Tivo?
    2) I'm hearing that for the HR20 I will need 2 lines of coax going into the house from the dish. Does this mean in addition to the line already in the wall, they will have to run another line into the house?
    3) Besides the HD box, will I need any other equip for the TV to become HD?

Thanks for your help ;)

2. bonscott87

bonscott87 Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

Jan 21, 2003
    Doesn't matter if you have the HR20 or the Tivo you need 2 lines to the box for both tuners. You need a line for each tuner you have.

3. Marty B

Marty B Legend

Sep 21, 2006

1) You can rule out an H20 and seperate Tivo if you want HD. The stand alone Tivo series 3 is cable only. You might be able to go with an HR10 if you want a DirecTV DVR with Tivo, or you could go with the HR20, its a DVR though its not Tivo.

2) You need two lines to the HR20, one for each tuner. You could only use 1 tuner.

3) I dont think so. I have the same TV as you. If you want Dolby Digital 5.1, you will need a decoding amplifier for sound.

Marty