1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help, Getting a new ROOF!

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by leier911, Jul 7, 2010.

1. Jul 7, 2010 #1 of 23
    leier911

leier911 AllStar

Oct 17, 2006
    Here in good old Minnesota we recently had some bad storms. Major wind and hail damage so the guy came out to look and we may be getting a full, new roof.

Few questions. I have a dish (HD dish with mount and the two support braces) on the right side of the roof. What is the best process for this? I have never done this before? I am weary about having them take it down as I recall my brother had some roof work done last year and the guys he had do the roof, ripped it out like crazy and left, then he could not get TV, checked up there and they barely mounted it back up there, of course facing the other way. Do I call Directv or go up and do it myself and remove it before the roof work starts?

Then what after that? When the new roof is done, should I then call directv and tell them, existing customer, with roof damage, just putting the same dish back up?

2. Jul 7, 2010 #2 of 23
    hilmar2k

hilmar2k Hall Of Fame

Mar 18, 2007
    The roofers should be able to take it down, but I'd have DIRECTV come out to reinstall it.

3. Jul 7, 2010 #3 of 23
    Matt9876

Matt9876 Hall Of Fame

Oct 11, 2007
    Just remove the dish as neatly as possible,remove the mount screws and set it on the ground gently,the cables all connect at the LNB.

Call a pro to have it reinstalled,take notice of the direction it's pointed and location on the roof,telling the installer this information might save him a few minuets of work.

4. Jul 7, 2010 #4 of 23
    dave29

dave29 New Member

Feb 18, 2007
    ^This, although, you may want to take it down yourself like mentioned above.

5. Jul 7, 2010 #5 of 23
    Tulsacoker

Tulsacoker AllStar

Jun 1, 2010