1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New here and to Direct TV

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Squall Line, Nov 26, 2010.

1. Squall Line

Squall Line New Member

Nov 26, 2010
    This is my first post.
    I own a camper . My brother and I camp together about once a month year round. He has DTV and I don’t. He suggested that if we buy a dish & tripod and I furnish the HDTV that he will bring along one of his DTV HD recievers.

[1]Will this work?
    [2]I thought that you needed a phone line connected to the system somewhere?
    [3]What do I need to buy to get the basic set up?
    [4]Can I do the setup myself?
    [5]Can I do it without purchasing a high dollar signal finder. I see them from $30.00 to $600.00, I can’t go for the high end stuff.

Please be as detailed as you can without going way overboard.
    REMEMBER I am NEW to this and I don’t really understand all the lingo that you guys use. I have real a lot and watched a lot of YouTube videos.
    Some stuff seems simple enouth but there are times that I get confused with all the different info floating around.

2. HoTat2

HoTat2 Hall Of Fame

Nov 16, 2005
    Los...
    :welcome_s

Yes, in fact if you do a search on "tailgating" setups, you should find quite a lot of discussions about it on this site.

Only if you want to order Pay-Per-View programs.

SlimLine or "AU-9" dish with a SlimLine-3 or 5 LNB. Though the 3 is likely sufficient. Mounting tripod, HD set top box receiver or DVR, RG-6 coax with connectors and a B-Band converter (two of each for a DVR) if the LNB is a non-SWM type.

Yes, though fine tuning the azimuth and elevation dish adjustments to peak the Ka band signals for the HD channels can be somewhat tricky.

[5]Can I do it without purchasing a high dollar signal finder. I see them from $30.00 to $600.00, I can’t go for the high end stuff.