1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Install report

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by faspina, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Feb 5, 2007 #1 of 14
    faspina

faspina Legend

Sep 14, 2006
    Hi, I am new to DirectTv. Just got my 5ln dish and hr20 installed today. Everything went well. The installers did a good job of telling me what was going on, deciding where to put the dish, cables runs and all that other stuff. I also get a d11 reciever that hooks to my series2 tivo. I got it all setup downstairs record kid stuff for my kids, no problem. The series2 uses a IR cable to change the channel on the d11.

THe Hr20 test is going well well, I recording a bunch of sd and hd stuff today and tonight. Watching Heroes and Studio 60, had a few format problem in the middle of each episode. Both of them migh have been been nbc fault. Other than that nothing to speak of.

I have it set to native mode. I even though there is a delay between channels, it beats having to change the format as I flip through channels. The picture on both the HD and SD look great.

2. Feb 6, 2007 #2 of 14
    mocciat

mocciat Icon

Oct 17, 2006
    Native on is the source of some bugs in the HR20. I would turn it off if I were you. You should not have to change the format every time you change the channel. Leave the HR20 on the 1080i stretch resolution and it should adjust the channels automatically.

3. Feb 6, 2007 #3 of 14
    faspina

faspina Legend

Sep 14, 2006
    I failed to mention I have a 4:3 Samsung TV. Will it format the channel as I go from SD to HD.

4. Feb 6, 2007 #4 of 14
    hdfan01

hdfan01 Legend

Feb 1, 2006
    I'm confussed..... If your TV is 4:3, you don't have a HD TV. Need more info on your equipment. You should probably leave the res on one setting as mentioned, if you have HD. Glad your install went well, enjoy.....