1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New installer essential equipment

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by SWMForYourLife, Aug 30, 2010.

1. SWMForYourLife

SWMForYourLife New Member

Aug 30, 2010
    I'm just getting into the business and already have my tool belt assembled with strippers, crimpers, gear wrenches, etc. but several big purchases remain and was hoping to solicit some informed decisions before dishing out any hard earned cash.

I, by chance, ran into a guy who has left the business and is willing to sell me his old birdog. Unfortunately, he doesn't know much about it except that it was the higher end model when he bought it (2008), usb, and cost him around $400. He wants to give it to me for $275. I think its version 4 but hopefully someone who knows more about it can piece the jigsaw together.

The other equipment I'm looking at is a drill and ladder. For a drill I'm considering the $279 ridgid x3 18v mostly for its lifetime warranty or the v28 milwaukee kit for $379 at amazon. The ladder will most likely be the multi purpose 22' warner so it can fold into the back of my truck, removing the need for a rig.

I appreciate any advice. I want to get my equipment as close to right the first time as I can. I hate spending redundant money.

2. Manctech

Manctech Icon

Jul 5, 2010

• You really want to get a Hammer drill.

• 22' isn't very tall for a ladder. I have a 16' and a 28/32' on my van.
    The Bird dog is a good meter, make sure it has the SWM Meters. http://www.satinstalltraining.com/meter.html

3. SWMForYourLife

Aug 30, 2010
    Will even an older model birdog be SWM compatible if I give it the appropriate configuration files?